Introducing Ethiopia


Flag of Ethiopia

image source

Ethiopia is located in east Africa (horn of africa), between latitudes 4 and 18 north. It is a ruggedly mountainous country, covering 1,251,282km. Kenya, Eritrea, Somalia, Djibouti, Sudan and recently independent Southern Sudan are neighbouring countries of Ethiopia.

Ethiopia has millennia of history according to some documents. In ancient times, Abyssinia was the name of present day Ethiopia. Paleontological studies identify Ethiopia as one of the cradles of human kind.

Ethiopia embraces a variety of nations, nationalities and people and linguistic groups. There are over 80 different languages, which can be categorized into 12 Semitic, 22 Cushitic, 18 Omotic and 18 Nilo-Saharan languages.

Ethiopia has never been colonized. It has fought big battles during the colonialism era to defend its independence.


Ethiopia on Map

image source

Government:Ethiopia is an independent republic operating under the constitution of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia. The President is the head of state, while the Prime Minister is the head of government.

Regions:Ethiopia is made up of 9 federal regions.

Capital City: Addis Ababa

Calendar: Ethiopia has its own calendar, which consists of twelve months of thirty days each and a thirteenth month of five days (six days in a leap year).

Facts About Ethiopia, Ministry of Information, Feb. 2004
Ethiopian Telecommunication Yellow Books site (Electronic version)

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Detection